French Public Holidays

A calendar of the national vacation days when businesses, schools and banks may close and most people get the day off in France...

The French for: bank holiday/public holiday/legal holiday is un jour férié.

  • French organisations and businesses close on public holidays.
  • Although some shopping centres and grocers open for part of the day, the majority of shops do not.
  • Police stations and hospitals do not close.
  • When a public holiday falls on a Thursday or Tuesday, it is common practice to "make the bridge" (faire le pont) by taking off the Friday or Monday so creating a very long weekend. When this happens you may find businesses running on short staff or smaller family run business closed for the full period.

Further Information

The Ministère du Travail has information on the law as it affects employment and national public holidays: Click here (in French)
For the dates of French school holidays from the Department of Education: Click here

National and Regional Holidays

25 December 2014 (Thu)Christmas DayNational
1 January 2015 (Thu)New Year's Day++National
6 April 2015 (Mon)Easter MondayNational
1 May 2015 (Fri)Labor Day/May DayNational
8 May 2015 (Fri)Victory Day 1945National
14 May 2015 (Thu)AscensionNational
25 May 2015 (Mon)Whit MondayNational
14 July 2015 (Tue)Bastille DayNational
15 August 2015 (Sat)AssumptionNational
1 November 2015 (Sun)All Saints' DayNational
11 November 2015 (Wed)Liberation Day 1918National
25 December 2015 (Fri)Christmas DayNational
Do you have a suggestion to improve this page? click here...

Content Sponsor

AXA PPP

We have over 40 years of experience insuring the health of expatriates worldwide. Our plans have...
Find out more...

privatepropertysellers.com

privatepropertysellers.com
Find out more...

Bupa Global

This Winter, get a FREE quote for worldwide health cover for you and your family: 24 hour...
Find out more...


Become Member List your Business Blog For Us






AngloINFO needs your vote!
Vote for AngloINFO as Best Expat Website

Complete
The Expat Survey 2014
and vote for AngloINFO
on the final page